Nine races were completed over a 5 day regatta at the Flying 15 Australian National Championships held at the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron.  

Nick and Enfys Jerwood, from the South of Perth Yacht Club, dominated the regatta with 4 first placings and 3 second placings.  

The final top 4 places in the Australian National Championships were:  

1. Ineffable – Nick and Enfys Jerwood – South of Perth Yacht Club

2. Firefly – Philippa Packer and Dean McAullay – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club Perth

3. Tuffan Up – David Yu and Chris Nelson – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club Perth

4. Glamour Buoys – Greg Leaversuch and Peter Barblett – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club Perth

The Performance Handicap trophy for the series was won by Ffast Lane 3 helmed by John Wilson.

Racing was abandoned on the 4th day of the regatta due to strong winds.  A call was made early in the day and skippers and crew were given the day off for sightseeing and relaxation. 

Three races were run on the final day of the regatta.  These included a mixture of sausage and triangle courses.  Conditions were pleasant with 12 – 14 kts but the water remained choppy from the strong winds the day before.  Races 7 and 8 were won by Ineffable (Nick and Enfys Jerwood) and, as they had already sealed the championship win, they decided to sit out the last race. 

This regatta saw the introduction of the inaugural Matt Owen Trophy for the highest placed female in the Australian Championships.  This was won by Enfys Jerwood as crew on Ineffable.  Runner up was Phillipa Packer who helmed Firefly.  

An Invitational Race was held on Day 1 of the regatta in the sheltered Port River due to 20 – 22 kt wind conditions.  The Uffa Fox Trophy for this race was won by Glamour Buoys (Greg Leaversuch and Peter Barblett, RFBYC).

First place in the division for old Classic boats was won by Scallywag (Marc Read, Christies Sailing Club).

Presentations were held in the prestigious upstairs dining room at the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron.

Final National Championship results can be found here


Report and Images by Chris Mandalov