Category Archives: ffia

2018 Ossie Mac at Apollo Bay

In the most Southerly village on mainland Australia, the Ossie McCutcheon Regatta offered two fine days sailing at Apollo Bay in the wind and waves of Bass Strait. With winds from 10-20 knots and 3m swell, Trophy Honours went to Lewis Davies and John Radnell on Flying Flamingo 3890 who adapted best to the changing conditions and proved too hard to beat all weekend.

Lewis & John, with Ossie Mc Trophy
and meat tray from Foodworks Apollo Bay!

Four Classics from Apollo Bay sailed. Karilyn and Stephan Ras on Shiralee 1683 came from the back of the fleet to lead the Classics towards the end after some ding-dong battles with Bruce Johnson & Geraldine Lewin on April Dancer 1115 and Peter Bourne and Anton Tibbits on Miss Molly 2380. Miss Molly, built for Sir Osborn McCutcheon in 1978,

Dale Collings won the Handicap Trophy with crew Wayne Fallows.
Dale pictured with a feed of gummy shark from Apollo Bay Fishing Co op.

celebrates her 40th birthday this year. Tim Cobb and Chris Adams on Affrodite 962 pipped new pairing Cam Taylor and Ed Brewis on SNAFU 4007 in one of the races after a close fought spinnaker run down the swell but otherwise the

April Dancer and Shiralee, while Rainbow Warrior looks on

Mark3’s took line honours and handicap. Gavin Dagley provided invaluable advice and coaching throughout the regatta with marked improvements in sailing over the weekend and lots of things to work on in future weeks.

Miss Molly, Shiralee and Affrodite (L to R)


Hamish Carnachan & Peter Mudford wrap up Tally Hobbs Regatta with 4 wins

Flying Fifteen Tally Hobbs Regatta at Royal Freshwater Bay YC in Perth, WA

The Perth based Flying Fifteen fleet from Royal Freshwater Bay YC and South of Perth YC joined forces for the Tally Hobbs Regatta held on Swan River over the weekend of 17 – 18 November. The regatta attracted 16 boats racing a 6 race series in ideal light to moderate winds.

Racing kicked off on Saturday afternoon with 3 races held using windward/leeward courses on quite a tight race course in Freshwater Bay in front of the Royal Freshwater Bay YC clubhouse in a cool S/SW breeze.

Two former world champions racing in different boats got caught out in race one by being called OCS. They were Dean McAullay crewing for Philippa Packer and Grant Alderson with Evan Moore as crew. This allowed Hamish Carnachan and Peter Mudford (RFBYC) to chalk up their first win from Emily and Kristine Pettersson (SoPYC) a well sailed 2nd.

In the shifty breezes choice of sides upwind became crucial and there were many place changes up and down the fleet. In race 2, Hamish Carnachan & Peter Mudford again worked to the front this time followed by Karen and Russell Dawes (SoPYC) with Bobby Salmond over from Scotland sailing with Richard Blaquiere having a great race to finish in 3rd.

The final race on Saturday turned up another change, this time the Carnachan/Mudford combo were judged to be OCS and the race win went to Grant Alderson and Evan Moore (RFBYC) back in the groove after two bad results. Proving that the last result was not a fluke Bobby Salmond and Richard Blaquiere went one better with a 2nd and Philippa Packer and Dean McAullay (RFBYC) back in the chocolates in 3rd.

Day 2 of the regatta was held on Melville Waters, another part of the Swan River with more room for bigger courses and slightly more breeze 12 – 15 knots. The cool sea breeze teased competitors with regular oscillating shifts.

Grant Alderson and Evan Moore started where they left off on Saturday with a race win in race 4 from a rapidly improving David Yu and Chris Nelson (RFBYC) with Hamish Carnachan and Peter Mudford back on the podium in 3rd.

The penultimate race was a game of two halves depending on what side of the course you chose. David Yu/Chris Nelson and Hamish Carnachan/Peter Mudford tacked over to the usually unfavoured right side leaving the rest of the fleet heading out left. When they reached the top mark these two boats had a huge lead. They were attacking each other down the run but still rounded the gate with about half a leg lead over the fleet. David Yu/Chris Nelson held off the challengers until the last leg when Hamish Carnachan/Peter Mudford got through to take their 3rd win of the series. 3rd again was Philippa Packer and Dean McAullay.

The final race was held in the building lunchtime sea breeze from the more regular S/SW direction. The fleet were a lot more compact this time and places were traded amongst the leaders on each lap but coming home first was the familiar spinnaker of Hamish Carnachan and Peter Mudford to take the gun and the series. Second in the last race was Greg Leaversuch and Peter Barblett (RFBYC) and 3rd Grant Alderson and Evan Moore.

This meant that Hamish Carnachan and Peter Mudford were clear winners with 7 points from 6 races with one discard. David Yu and Chris Nelson moved up to 2nd overall with 20 points by sailing much better on Sunday, and Grant Alderson and Evan Moore took 3rd on count back with 20 points.

Link to results

by Jonny Fullerton on behalf of the Flying Fifteen International


Vale Matt an inspiration…

After a long battle with cancer, sadly Matt Owen passed away recently. Our thoughts are with his wife Karen and son Will.
Matt was known to many, not only in the Fifteen community but the sailing community at large as a respected and inspirational sailor. His good humour and camaraderie was infectious; both on and off the water. He was accommodating and affable with an excellent nature with everyone.
After many years sailing in other classes, such as 18ft skiffs, 49ers, keel boats, trailables, he joined the Fifteen class in a borrowed boat from the boat park of the Canberra Yacht Club about 2007. With sailing partner Andrew Reed, they quickly became successful in the class; their Fifteen achievements are endless. They won over 10 ACT Flying Fifteen championships and finished in the top five at the world championships in Hong Kong and New Zealand. They currently hold the title of New Zealand 
National Champion.
Some of the amazing achievements are listed below…
2009 Victorian State Championships – Gippsland Lakes Yacht Club
2011 Australian National Championships – Canberra Yacht Club
2012 Australian National Championships – South of Perth Yacht Club (crew with Steve Goacher)

2014 Australian National Championships – Lake Macquarie Yacht Club
2016 Australian National Championships – Canberra Yacht Club
2017 New Zealand National Championships – Napier Sailing Club
2018 Australian National Championships – Mornington Yacht Club
In December 2014, Matt was given less than a year to live when diagnosed with gall bladder cancer, however with his positivity and the help of a drug developed to fight breast cancer he managed to extend that diagnosis.
Despite his cancer, Matt being CEO ran the Canberra Yacht Club and continued to sail and live his life to capacity; including jumping out of a plane, bungee-jumping and swimming with whale sharks! As recently as August, he competed in Hamilton Island Race Week where his team was placed second.
A celebration of Matty’s life will be hosted by the Canberra Yacht Club on Friday 26 October 2018 from 4.00-6.00pm…everyone is welcome who knew and loved ‘Pillow’ (as he was affectionately known).
Keep Smiling Matt!
Words by Lyn Wallace et others
Photo of Matt at his last sailing regatta, Hamilton Island Race Week, courtesy of Stuart Loft
1 2 3 38