Author Archives: admin

2019 Victorian Championships Day 2

Only one race sailed on the second day due to fickle winds and several false starts. The one race brought the discard into play which reshuffled all the places. The Rainey brothers salad consistently to take out the title. Craig Conn & Michael McCartney won the Silver trophy and Tim Cobb & Andrew Smith the Classic Trophy. Final Results.


Vale Fred Jensen

Fred Jensen passed away recently in Tasmania. Fred was a Life Member of FFIV and did two stints as secretary of FFIA - 1984-86 & 1990-92.

The second term was when FFIA was trying to persuade BIFFA to accept tighter tolerances on our hull measurements, the changes eventuated some years later and produced the one-design we now enjoy.

Fred sailed at Davey's Bay and was a stalwart of his home club, when he fully retired he and Mitchie moved to Tasmania.

Our thoughts are the Mitchie and daughters Vivienne and Karen.


Peter Rooke – new Life Member of FFIA

At the recent National Championship in Adelaide President Les Kearney announced that the FFIA committee had nominated Peter Rooke becomes a Life Member of FFIA, the announcement was met with alacrity.

As we all know Peter is currently Commodore of FFI, he was President of FFIA for 5 years so he has put the hard yards in. He started sailing at SoPYC as a young man in VJ's, Skates, Fireballs etc.

He also did some ocean racing including the Fremantle to Bunbury, to Geraldton, to Lombok races.
He served for several years as Vice President of Yachting Western Australia.
He bought his first Flying Fifteen in 2002 (AUS 2974) and has updated several times since.
His enthusiasm for the Class is demonstrated by his participation in National and International events. He has sailed in 13 of the 15 National Championships held since he bought his first boat and in addition, has sailed in 5 of the 6 World Championships. (Not many of us can match this record)


1 2 3 27